Nominees Announced For The Canadian Comedy Awards

June 7th, 2012

The nominees for the Canadian Comedy Awards has been announced. Below is the full list of nominees, which you can vote for here. Voting is open from June 14th to July 29th.

Canadian Comedy Person of the Year

Gerry Dee Kenny Hotz Martin Short Nikki Payne Steve Patterson

Best TV Show

Almost Heroes Michael: Tuesdays & Thursdays Picnicface The Debaters Todd & The Book Of Pure Evil

Best Film

Dark Rising: Summer Strikes Back French Immersion Long Branch Roller Town The Trial

Best Radio Program or Clip

Am I Right?? Anything Goes with Darren Frost/Guy Earl Controversy The Debaters – “Breaking Up” The Debaters – “Fast Food” This Is That

Best Web Clip

Acting Real Call Me Dad Makin’ a show – Comedy Bar Riverdale: The Archie Movie Trailer The Fish Bride

Best Web Series

Comedy Bar Goodbye Sara Hennessey Scott Thompson’s Fruit Blog Sexy Nerd Girl The Casting Room

Best Podcast

Hold Your Applause Illusionoid Stop Podcasting Yourself The SeanPod The Sunday Service presents: A Beautiful Podcast

Best Male Stand-Up

Dave Merheje Mark Forward Pete Zedlacher Ron Josol Ron Sparks

Best Female Stand-Up

Allyson Smith Christina Walkinshaw DeAnne Smith Kate Davis Kristeen von Hagen

Best Stand-Up Newcomer

Heidi Brander Josh Williams Julie Kim Steve Patrick Adams Tom Henry

Best Comedic Play, Revue or Series

Blind Date Celebrity Roasts Hypnogogic Logic Rap Battlez! The Script Tease Project

Best One Person Show

ELLAmentary Mickey & Judy Sex, Religion & Other Hang-ups The Best of ‘The Newsdesk with Ron Sparks’ The Cockwhisperer – A Love Story

Best Sketch Troupe

Falcon Powder Hot Thespian Action Jape Peter n’ Chris Uncalled For

Best Improv Troupe

2-Man No-Show Blind Date company M&M Mantown The Sunday Service

Best Male Improvisor

Alastair Forbes Mark Meer Matt Baram Ryan Beil Taz VanRassel

Best Female Improvisor

Caitlin Howden Dale Boyer Rebecca Northan Sarah Hillier Stacey McGunnigle

Best Taped Live Performance

Darrin Rose – Comedy Now! Graham Chittenden – Comedy Now! Mark Forward – The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson Nathan Macintosh – Comedy Now! Steve Patterson, Sean Cullen, Pete Johannson, Derek Edwards and Nathan Macintosh – The Debaters (“Tea vs. Coffee” and “Too Many TV Channels”)

Best Direction – Television Program or Series

Adam Brodie & Dave Derewlany – Funny As Hell Craig David Wallace – Todd & The Book of Pure Evil #213 Black Tie Showdown Don McKellar – Michael: Tuesdays & Thursdays Kenny Hotz & Sebastian Cluer – Kenny Hotz’s Triumph of the Will Mark McKinney – Less Than Kind Eps. 313

Best Writing – Television Program or Series

Andrew Bush, Garry Campbell, Kyle Dooley, Cheryl Hann, Mark Little, Brian Macquarrie, Evany Rosen, Scott Vrooman, Bill Wood – Picnicface Bob Martin – Michael: Tuesdays & Thursdays Ken Finkleman – Good God Matt Watts – Michael: Tuesdays & Thursdays Russell Peters, Clayton Peters, Luciano Casimiri, Kristeen Von Hagen, Jean Paul – A Russell Peters Christmas

Best Performance by a Male – Television

Bill Turnbull – Todd & the Book of Pure Evil Bob Martin – Michael: Tuesdays & Thursdays Darrin Rose – Mr. D Pat Thornton – Comedy Bar Ryan Belleville – Almost Heroes

Best Performance by a Female – Television

Amy Matysio – Single White Spenny Lauren Ash – Almost Heroes Naomi Snieckus – Mr. D Samantha Bee – Good God Tommie-Amber Pirie – Michael: Tuesdays & Thursdays

Best Performance by an Ensemble – Television

Call Me Fitz Good God Less Than Kind Michael: Tuesdays & Thursdays Picnicface

Best Performance by a Male – Film

Boomer Phillips – Bounty Hunters (Bail Enforcers) Gavin Crawford – French Immersion Pardis Parker – The Dance Robb Wells – Beat Down Winston Spear – The Trial

Best Performance by a Female – Film

Brigitte Kingsley – Dark Rising: Summer Strikes Back Carolyn Bennett – The Trial Jocelyne Zucco – Funkytown Marthe Bernard – Beat Down Olunike Adeliyi – French Immersion

Best Writing – Film

Jefferson Lewis, Kevin Tierney – French Immersion Paolo Mancini & Thomas Michael – Running Mates Pardis Parker – The Dance Rob Baker, Dale Boyer, Adam Cawley, Chris Earle, Brian G. Smith – Live from The CenTre – Animal Literacy Group Scott Vrooman, Mark Little, Andrew Bush – Roller Town

Best Direction – Film

Andrew Bush – Roller Town Brett Blackwell – Boss of Me Deanne Foley – Beat Down Kevin MacDonald & Ron Sparks – The Trial Kevin Tierney – French Immersion

The Phil Hartman Award

Colin Mochrie Eric Toth Jo-Anna Downey Joe and David Flaherty Kate Davis